Does TikTok Notify When You Save a Video?

Advertisements

Through the years, many social media apps would notify a user if someone saved their content. Even though this feature has become less popular, especially in newer social media apps, we collectively ask about notifications of saved content. Some apps will still offer the feature but in a limited capacity.

Does TikTok Notify When You Save a Video?

So, does TikTok notify when you save a video? Read the article to find out.

Does TikTok Notify When You Save a Video?

In today’s world, many content creators need to consider intellectual property rights regarding their TikTok content. You can make a career on TikTok, which means your videos are the product of your business and brand. It’s unfortunately widespread that people will download a user’s video and repost it elsewhere to gain views on another app.

With that kind of practice, it’s no wonder many users may want to know if they’ll be notified if someone downloads their video. But does TikTok notify you?

No, TikTok does not currently notify a user when someone downloads a video. In general, this is to avoid flooding a user’s notification center.

How to Stop TikTok Video Downloads

Despite the lack of details a user has regarding who downloads their video, there is one step you can take to keep your content safe. TikTok does allow you to turn off the download option on your videos. If you’re having trouble with your content being downloaded for the wrong reasons, turning off this option can help.

Also Read:  How to Change your Profile Picture in Facebook Messenger

To turn off downloads of your TikTok videos, follow the steps below.

  1. Launch the TikTok app.
  2. Tap on “Profile.”
  3. Click the menu button at the top of the screen. This will look like three lines.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Tap on “Privacy” and scroll down to the “Video Downloads” switch.
  6. Toggle this switch to turn off downloads.

This will turn off users’ permission to download your videos, but you will still be able to download other people’s videos if you want to.

How to Use Privacy Settings to Stop Downloads

You can also use different privacy settings to prevent other people from downloading your content. These privacy settings control who can view the content. If you’re OK with certain people being able to download, this is an excellent way to restrict who has access to the video.

Make Your Account Private

The most efficient way to restrict who has access to your account and all of your content would be to make the account private. Making the account private allows you to approve who can view the content.

To make your account private, take the following steps.

  1. Launch your TikTok app on either iOS or Android.
  2. Tap on “Profile.”
  3. Tap the menu button in the upper-right corner. This looks like three lines.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Under the “Account” section, tap on “Privacy.”
  6. Find the “Private account” toggle and turn it on.

This won’t affect any of your current followers. If one of your followers is downloading your videos and you don’t want them to, the only way to prevent that would be to turn off the downloads on your videos.

Also Read:  How To Tell if Someone Blocked you on Snapchat

Make Individual Videos Private

You can make individual videos private if you don’t want to make the account completely private but want to limit access to specific videos. TikTok has an option for making individual videos private. To adjust the privacy settings on your TikTok videos, follow these steps.

  1. Launch the TikTok app for iOS or Android and select the “Profile” icon.
  2. Go to the videos tab and find the video you want to change. Tap on it to fix it.
  3. When the video pops up, tap the three dots in the bottom-right corner.
  4. An options menu will appear. Select “Privacy settings.”
  5. Tap on “Who can watch this video.”
  6. Select “Friends” to limit the video to your followers whom you follow back. Tap “Only me” to make the video inaccessible to everyone but you.

This privacy setting is a great way to limit certain content to fewer people. Remember that this won’t prevent the people within the approved group from downloading the video. It only determines who has access to the video to do so.

To Download or Not to Download?

When most users download a TikTok video, it’s to save that video for later viewing. Maybe they ran out of time or loved it so much they wanted to watch it on repeat. These kinds of users make leaving the downloads turned on worth it to many creators. However, many valid reasons limit the permissions of viewers for videos you make.

Have you ever turned off the downloads on one of your TikTok videos? Have you tried downloading a video only to find that the creator had turned off the option? Let us know in the comments section below.

Also Read:  How to Download a Video from WhatsApp

In this article, we were able to provide you with top quality information you may need, do let us know your feedback on this article in the comment section below. Also Don’t Forget to Jon our Telegram Group For More Posts and Daily Tips and Free Network Cheats and Applications. Join Our Telegram Channel >>>>Here<<<<